The sooner you die..Die, and do what you wish. (Shido Bunan).

Standard

The sooner you die…

Die, and do what you wish.
(Shido Bunan)

Sounds a little too radical for a start. The saying of St Augustine was gentler: “Love and do what you wish”. Though in fact the two sayings are close in meaning. True love is unto death, ad it is only love that can make us accept death. In love and in death we fully surrender; we go out of ourselves; we give ourselves totally; and that is why both love and death give us the right to do what we wish. The redeeming paradox makes me free when I surrender my independence, makes me be truly me when I come out of myself. “He who does not deny himself cannot be my disciple.”

To die to oneself is an old precept. To surrender the self. To empty the ego. To vacate the throne. All my life revolves round a point that marks my interests, my wishes, my attachment to life and to success and to pleasure. So long as that iron axle is stuck in the centre of my being, I will be subject to the mad whirlwind that spins me round and round. True balance is only achieved in a vacuum.

When I cease to desire, I’ll be able to desire anything. Free window that opens up the whole world to me, on condition that I first open up myself. The surprise that awaits me is that when I divest myself of my desires, I shall find that I have lost nothing; on the contrary, as I’ll have gained in inner balance, I’ll also gain in the capacity to enjoy all good things in fuller measure. The cleaner my senses, the greater the joy. The clearer my mind, the deeper the bliss. To leave all to obtain all. To leave myself in order to be truly and eternally myself.

The bold saying inspires determination. Since we have to die anyway, the sooner we do it, the better. It pays.

From – Father C.G.Valles s.j. Bi Monthly

About dhavalrajgeera

Physician who is providing free service to the needy since 1971. Rajendra M. Trivedi, M.D. who is Yoga East Medical Advisor www.yogaeast.net/index.htm http://www.yogaeast.net/index.htm Graduated in 1968 from B. J. Medical College, Amadavad, India. Post Graduate training in Neurological Surgery from Charles University in Czechoslovakia. 1969 - 71. and received Czechoslovakian Government Scholarship. Completed training at the Cambridge Hospital and Harvard University in Psychiatry. Rajendra M. trivedi is an Attending Psychiatrist at Baldpate Hospital. He is the Medical Director of CCA and Pain Center in Stoneham, MA where he has been serving the community since 1971 as a Physician. OTHER AFFILIATIONS: Lifer of APA - American Psychiatrist Association Senior Physician and Volunteer with Massachusetts Medical Society and a Deligate of the Middlesex District. www.massmed.org Patron member of AAPI - American Association of PHYSICIANS OF INDIA. LIFE MEMBER OF IMANE - Indian Medical Association of New England. Member of the Board of Advisors "SAHELI, Boston,MA. www.saheliboston.org/About1/A_Board Dr. Trivedi is working closely with the Perkin's School for the Blind. www.perkins.org. Dr. Trivedi is a Life member and Honorary Volunteer for the Fund Raising Contact for North America of BPA - Blind People Association of Amadavad, India. www.bpaindia.org Dr.Trivedi is the Medical Advisor for Yoga East since 1993. He is a Physician who started Health Screening and Consultation At Shri Dwarkami Clinic in Billerica, MA. https://www.dwarkamai.com/health-and-wellness

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

