ફાધર વાલેસની અજબ કાર્યનિષ્ઠા અને અનન્ય માતૃભક્તિ.

Standard

ફાધર વાલેસની અજબ કાર્યનિષ્ઠા અને અનન્ય માતૃભક્તિ.

 

Dear Father,
Pranam from Rajoo and Trivedi Parivar.
Hope all is well with you.
We were keeping you and Mother  in our Heart as always.
Happy Valentine day.
On February 20th is Maha Shivaratri and we will thank God,
Thy love has kept me going and keeping in touch with you and all the loveing people.
I was happy to see your Photo and read in  
વિનોદ વિહાર  which i am sending for you.
Love
===========================================
Dear Vinodbhai,
It was nice to say in your 
 
વિનોદ વિહાર   my Teacher and Mentor ફાધર વાલેસની અજબ
કાર્યનિષ્ઠા અને અનન્ય માતૃભક્તિ.  
 
I am in contact with Dear Father C.G. Valles s.j.all these time.
Since, June 15th 1960 Father became Dear and Near to me and is still connected with his love and blessing and Guiding force.
Our family is blessed with such a Saint.
We had privilaged to meet Father’s Mother who love and gave us the Chocalate during her visit to Ahmedabad,Gujarat.
Yesterday,I was thinking both of them on Our Valentine Day.
Love
Rajendra Trivedi, M.D.

 

About dhavalrajgeera

Physician who is providing free service to the needy since 1971. Rajendra M. Trivedi, M.D. who is Yoga East Medical Advisor www.yogaeast.net/index.htm http://www.yogaeast.net/index.htm Graduated in 1968 from B. J. Medical College, Amadavad, India. Post Graduate training in Neurological Surgery from Charles University in Czechoslovakia. 1969 - 71. and received Czechoslovakian Government Scholarship. Completed training at the Cambridge Hospital and Harvard University in Psychiatry. Rajendra M. trivedi is an Attending Psychiatrist at Baldpate Hospital. He is the Medical Director of CCA and Pain Center in Stoneham, MA where he has been serving the community since 1971 as a Physician. OTHER AFFILIATIONS: Lifer of APA - American Psychiatrist Association Senior Physician and Volunteer with Massachusetts Medical Society and a Deligate of the Middlesex District. www.massmed.org Patron member of AAPI - American Association of PHYSICIANS OF INDIA. LIFE MEMBER OF IMANE - Indian Medical Association of New England. Member of the Board of Advisors "SAHELI, Boston,MA. www.saheliboston.org/About1/A_Board Dr. Trivedi is working closely with the Perkin's School for the Blind. www.perkins.org. Dr. Trivedi is a Life member and Honorary Volunteer for the Fund Raising Contact for North America of BPA - Blind People Association of Amadavad, India. www.bpaindia.org Dr.Trivedi is the Medical Advisor for Yoga East since 1993. He is a Physician who started Health Screening and Consultation At Shri Dwarkami Clinic in Billerica, MA. https://www.dwarkamai.com/health-and-wellness

7 responses »

  1. — YOU TELL ME —is Wisdom From My Master….Mentor… Teacher
    Father C.G.Valles s.j.

    Question: My husband has asked my permission to go to bed from time to time with another woman. Can I give it to him?

    Answer: No. The prohibition not to go with other women does not come from you but from God; it is God’s Law that imposes it and as such it has to be respected and accepted in conscience. Another thing is that you may forgive him, but even that has to be carefully considered. You can, you should forgive him for the harm he has done to you placing you in such a situation, but you cannot forgive him for his offense to God, and for that he has to go to a confessor who represents God in the sacrament of penance. This pardon requires repentance and resolution not to do it again.

    Keep also in mind that marriage is more important than sex. For yourselves, for your children, and for society as a whole you must do all you can to carry on with your marriage. I hope you succeed in it.

  2. Wisdom From My Master….Mentor… Teacher Father C.G. Valles s.j.
    ===============================================================

    Only the person who has stopped causing harm to himself or herself
    can be a true ecologist.
    (Chamalú)

    I am so much a part of nature that, when I harm myself, I harm the environment around me. And when I harm the environment, I harm myself. This is the close link that converts one’s own care into selfless virtue, and disinterested generosity into personal benefit. Ecology is no optional activity of indifferent choice; it is law of life and personal responsibility towards the whole world that lives with all of us who live in it, and weakens with us when we fall sick. We are one with the air we breathe and the earth we walk on. Their destiny, for evil or for good, is irrevocably our destiny.

    In smoking, we stain not only our lungs, but the air that surrounds us. In cutting down a tree, we cut down on our oxygen. In soiling a lawn, we lose freshness ourselves. And in insulting nature we lose dignity, self-respect, nobility. Any harm done outside, is a harm inside; and every attack against our surroundings is a loss at the centre. We are life and limb in the body of nature.

    Putting it positively, when I do good to other persons and other things, I do good to myself. And when I do good to myself in its true and deeper meaning, I do it also to everybody and everything around me. A healthy, clean, balanced, serene, and responsible life is not only the best favour I can do to myself, but at the same time the best service I can render society at large. Therein lies its merit.

    Ecology is love of neighbour because it thinks of others, thinks of future generations, thinks of universal benefits, and leads people to sacrifice themselves for results they will never see. When exhorting ourselves to love our neighbor, we first think, led by the meaning of the very word, of those near us, of relatives, acquaintances, friends, fellow human beings within reach of our feelings and our help. That was a good beginning. Now we learn how to lift our eyes, look far, and begin to love men and women of the future; that is, to plan improvements and prepare amenities for generations still to come, to preserve our planet and improve environments for people who have not yet been born, to renew nature for men and women who will never know us to thank us. All that is love. All that is the great commandment. All that is boundless generosity in genuine disinterestedness. All that is Gospel and Grace and the Kingdom of God on earth.

    The good of one is the good of all. And in this “all” are included not only fellow men and women, but, in a newly-learnt and progressively opened generosity, all that lives and exists at our side, all that is life and being and nature – all that is creation. Everything is encompassed by the fraternal embrace that unites us all in a universal family.

    The ecological conscience has revealed to us the harm we do ourselves with unhealthy habits, which till recently appeared to be respectable and acceptable. Now we cannot claim ignorance. We are not innocent any more. It is time to stop the harm we cause to ourselves. That is ecology’s first principle.

    (Last change: 15.02.2012)
    (Next change: 01.03.2012)

  3. — NEW BOOK ! —

    NINE NIGHTS IN INDIA
    “It was on the first day of Navratri that I landed in India. The first night, I am not referring to my first arrival many years before, but to the recent call I now got from my friends there. I had retired back to Spain after fifty years in India, and now on this occasion they had called me from Ahmedabad for a formal farewell form the city and the friends and the land that had been mine for so many years and continued to be so in my heart. I readily agreed. I myself had missed such a farewell. After my retirement form teaching at St Xavier´s College I had come out to Spain only for a time to take care of my mother who, on turning 90 and being alone, had called me to take care of her. I went to Spain to keep her company, always with the idea of returning to India in the end. My mother must have been rejuvenated with my presence by her side because she happily lived to be 101, and by them my field of work had shifted to Spain. I stayed, and the years went by. So now, when the opportunity arose and the invitation came, I welcomed the idea of coming for a visit back to Gujarat where I would hug friends, make apeeches, neck garlands, record the event in my web site, and formally close the best chapter of my life….” (Abstract from the book)

    CONTENT

    Nine Nights
    Auspicious Landing
    Blankets and Panties
    Arangetram
    Daldhokri
    Son for a Day
    The Red Dot
    Open Me Very Gently!
    Through Broken Glass
    Two Breakfasts
    Nehru Bridge
    Blood Pressure Zero
    Provided It Is Not Easy
    The Great Night
    The Distance Between Man and Man
    I Love Your Very Stones
    Darshan
    Evangelising Cultures
    Well, I Am Not
    Love One Another
    The Tenth Day
    Cheering People Up
    Airport Watch

    Sample chapter

    BLOOD PRESSURE ZERO

    About thirty cots had been placed in the college assembly hall. It was the blood donation programme. Students were laying down on them while young doctors, in fact medical college students, were examining them, measuring their blood pressure, and getting them ready for the act. We had prepared the event previously, had explained to the students the need for blood donation, had removed the fear of losing blood and the old prejudice about mixing caste when mixing blood, had arranged for a blood donation day in our college, and as a result a number of students together with some professors had volunteered and were now awaiting with some nervousness the momentous occasion.

    I too was among them lying on a cot. Out of conviction, and conscious of my official position to give good example. By my side was Dr. Vishnubhai Mawlankar, the Red Cross director in the city and an old friend, working now on me. I rolled up my left shirt sleeve, he tied a rubber band up on my arm, chose a vein, punctured it neatly, and I could see the bottle standing on the side slowly becoming red with my blood. A deep, steady, thick red. It was my first blood donation.

    Dr. Mawlankar sensed my tenseness and relaxed me with his talk. ‘We need blood in our hospitals for victims of accidents. A fall, a crush, a pedestrian run over by a car, a deep random cut with blood loss, and we have to replace it with speed for the person to live. We use it in childbirth. Nature has made wonderful arrangements for birth, but sometimes a young mother loses blood heavily and needs immediate supply to stay alive and to be able to nurse her child happily into a new life. We need it when we operate cases where blood losses are unavoidable and we are ready to inject new blood into the patient. And then, sad though it is but also real at times, if there is war in our frontiers and our valiant soldiers are wounded, we must be ready with our supplies to save lives on the battlefront. In all those cases a bottle like this – he nodded towards the bottle that was getting filled with my blood – can mark the difference between life and death.’

    *

    I followed his eyes towards the bottle. My blood. My life. My gift. I breathed gently, regularly, as the doctor had advised me. Everything was so simple, and yet there seemed to be some solemnity about it, some depth, some mystery. I was getting lost in my thoughts when the doctor, always on the alert, spoke again.

    ‘See the wonder of it. Who will receive this blood? You will never know. And he or she shall never know who gave it to them. So that you don’t feel proud before anybody, and nobody feels obliged to you for your donation. Clean gift. You help without pride and they receive without dependence. You save a body and you save a self-respect. You give without expecting thanks, and they receive without owing you a debt. This is the ideal gift. Giving without hurting. Doing a favour without feeling superior. Helping without being self-conscious about it. Anonymous generosity. I will thank you, of course, in their name, but I don’t know who they are. This is the beauty of blood donation.’

    *

    ‘And then something else’, the good doctor went on. ‘You are a Christian. In all likelihood your blood here will go to a Hindu or a Muslim. Just as a Hindu’s blood can go to a Muslim, and a Muslim’s blood to a Hindu. Do you realise the significance of it? We doctors do classify blood according to certain groups which we have to keep in mind for medical reasons, but that has nothing to do with caste or creed, with place of birth or colour of skin, or even with being a man or a woman. Human blood is human blood, whether the person in question be rich or poor. See all your students around here. You know them and you know who is a Hindu and who is a Muslim, who is a Brahmin and who is a Dalit. And the blood is the same. Do you remember when both of us, you as a teacher and I as a doctor, went on a blood donation campaign to explain and propagate the idea of blood donation among college students?’

    Here it was my turn to speak. ‘Yes I remember’ I said. ‘Particularly our talk in that Jain boarding in the city where we met many bright students and strong opposition. Their sense of collective identity was very strong, and mixing blood with other communities was initially unacceptable to them. I did my best to explain that blood was universal and had nothing to do with religion, but then you clenched the issue with an answer I have never forgotten. May I remind you of it? A tall student stood up and asked you with a touch of insolence in his voice: “And how many times have you given blood in your life, sir?” You answered quietly, “Forty-four.” The student insisted defiantly, “How are you so sure of the number?” And you explained unruffled: “I’ve mentioned to you that after one has given blood, the body replaces the lost blood in just three months. That means one can donate blood once every three months. Since I was named director of the Red Cross I made it my habit to donate blood every three months, that is four times a year. Since I have been director of the Red Cross for eleven years that makes it four by eleven, or forty-four.” That simple testimony of yours had a greater effect on the whole audience that all the arguments I presented.’

    ‘That’s the beauty of it’, he went on. ‘You give something but you lose nothing. When you give out any other thing, you lose whatever it is you have given, but here the body by itself replaces the loss and you find yourself in a short time as rich as you were. You give without conceit, you give for the unity of humankind, and you give without losing anything in the giving. No transaction like that, to be sure.’

    *

    At that moment one of the medical students who were conducting the blood donation came rushing to Dr. Mawlankar, who was still sitting by my side, and said in a state of great agitation, ‘Please, please, sir, come at once, sir, come with me!’ Dr. Mawlankar, without looking up, answered with self-possessed gravity, ‘May I know, my young man, what is the matter on your mind?’ The student blurted out incoherently, ‘That girl over there, sir, that girl on that cot, the one I am attending to…’. – ‘Yes, young man, what is wrong with that girl?’ The boy exclaimed, ‘She has blood pressure zero, sir! Please come at once. Blood pressure zero!’ Dr. Mawlankar, without losing his cool and without getting up from his chair, looked up at the student and asked him with deliberate slowness, ‘Is the patient alive?’ – ‘Yes, sir, yes. She is alive. The girl is alive still. She is alive.’ – ‘Then check your instrument, my boy, it must be faulty.’ – ‘Yes sir, thank you, sir, I will check my instrument, sir, thank you, sir’, muttered the boy while retreating all confused, and the good doctor and experienced teacher smiled at me indulgently saying, ‘Those boys, those boys…’. I think I shall never forget the girl with zero blood pressure. Quite a record.

    *

    That was my first blood donation. I got up after a brief rest and looked around at the students lying on their cots. I knew them by their names, their faces, their performance in class and in exams, their personal problems with some of them, and a genuine affection for all. Now a touch of tenderness was added at seeing them, not as my mathematics students but as compassionate persons, as human beings, as boys and girls concerned for their neighbour, not wielding pen and paper to tackle mathematical problems but lying down with rolled up sleeves and sticking needles to give of their blood. I blessed them all gently in my heart as I looked at them. At each of them in turn. It was a hallowed sight.

    I joined the students that were leaving the hall after giving blood. Outside we were given each a cup of tea, courtesy of the Red Cross. I took it gratefully, smiling at the exchange. We gave blood and they give us tea. And then a certificate of our donation. Now back to the classroom. But with a new spirit, a new link between us, a new respect and kinship with my students and fellow teachers. We had given blood together. We were all one family.

  4. Dear Father,

    Pranam.
    For a while i was with you 60- 62 as your student and later saw you until i left for for Prague, CSSR.
    My Last meeting was in Chicago.
    Now, i have to meet you soon…
    Until i see you !
    As you said,” God we have formed for ourselves does not quite correspond with the reality. God is infinite, and our image of him is finite. We imagine a god who is necessarily anthropomorphic, not only in aspect but also in character, and we expect him to behave as we believe he has to behave, and that of course is not God. In India I learned the distinction between the concrete God (saguna Brahma) and the abstract God (nirguna Brahma), or the God of the beginners and the God of those advanced in the spiritual life. Our spiritual progress consists in passing from the concrete God to the abstract God in our faith and in our devotion.”
    Your love and blessing will keep me strong with faith and i will keep growing.
    Love

    Rajoo
    July16th 2012
    Here are some Pictures of Father Valles.
    http://carlosvalles.com/ningles/igaleria.htm

  5. New comment on your post “ફાધર વાલેસ, Carlos Valles”
    Author : NILESH KATIRA -KALAVAD, SHITLA, DIST-JAM NAGAR, VILLAGE-NANI BHAGEDI (IP: 120.60.59.90 , triband-mum-120.60.59.90.mtnl.net.in)
    E-mail : katira_calling@rediffmail.com
    URL : http://NO
    Whois : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/120.60.59.90
    Comment:
    for me father wallace is the best author and philosopher of human life for any country,any language and in any era. No body is comparable to father wallace, even no body can come near t o him, he is and will be great writer in gujarati language forever, i think he deserves all the award of lieterature of the world.
    he is simply great,great,great,great and great writer and human being for years to come………..
    i love you father wallace, i love your writtings,thoughts,philosophy and all your books,
    you are my one and only favourite author.-NILESH KATIRA-9892350827

    You can see all comments on this post here:
    http://sureshbjani.wordpress.com/2006/05/28/father_wallace/#comments

Leave a Reply

